Sign in to follow this  
Chris Christenberry

Most recommended metal for forging hammer heads

Posted (edited)

Okay, so I'm a newbie.  Got to put metal in a gas-fired oven for the first time last week.  That's the extent of my experience with the craft!!! :D

While at the forge that evening,  one of the guys had a new dogs head hammer.  It was this one:  https://picclick.com/DIY-Japanese-Blacksmith-Hammer-25-lb-Dog-302936320583.html   Nice looking hammer, but didn't quite satisfy my desire for one.  I like the more traditional Sawmakers Dogs Head hammer shape.  But in talking with people and researching dogs head hammers, I've stumbled across a lot of videos of folks forging them.  Looks like a lot of fun and doesn't look all that hard to do.  (remember, I said I'm a newbie...........that makes me also naive!) I have access to all the tools and equipment at this Thursday night gathering I've started attending.   I've been researching metals for the project and have found the consensus of many is that 1045 makes a good hammer head.  It's also very forgiving in the heat treating department.  (that should be helpful for a newbie)  So is 1045 a good one...............or am I headed in the wrong direction?

Edited by Chris Christenberry

Yup 1045 or 4140 makes nice hammers.

• Like 1

That's the first time I've heard those two mentioned.:o  Why would you recommend those over 1045 or 4140?

That's a bit mean-spirited, Gerald.  :rolleyes:

Those steels are not hardenable.  You can make a hammer out of them if you forge-weld a hardenable steel face on them, of course.  The lesson here is do a little reading to get a basic grasp of steel alloys and their properties.  Otherwise you might try to make a knife out of the "weldable steel" they sell at Home Depot.

• Thanks 1

10 hours ago, Gerald Boggs said:

Because you don't know the answer :-)