Matt S

Cross Sectioned My first Bloom, What Exactly Am I looking At?

Posted (edited)

Sorry in advance that I haven't got any pictures, (old camera, new computer, incompatible without adapter etc...), but i'll do my best to describe what I've got. I took 15lbs of mild steel iron worker punch outs, and using about 35lbs of charcoal melted them into a bloom, then went about consolidating the resulting bloom on the anvil with my 4lb. After about 4 hours of forging I have a rough cylinder 4.5" long, 2.25" in diameter that weighs about 4lbs. I cut all around and most of the way through it with a zip disc on a grinder, and broke it in two, polishing up one half and etching in ferric chloride. There's a lot of activity, and I don't know quite how to interpret it all, this is my first time doing this, and i'm hoping more practiced hands can translate for me. 

Where the grain is broken things are mostly grey, but with some I guess you could say "veins" of bright silver. On the etched piece, from the outside to about 1/2" along the circumference it looks sort of tiger striped, alternating light grey and dark in short bands, beyond that and to the center the dark bands remain, but filling in the space between them is a shade of grey somewhere in between the light and the dark that has a frosty appearance to it, like etched mild steel, but darker. So, I'm assuming the dark areas are carbon rich, the light areas are not, I haven't the slightest idea what to make of the frosty looking middle, or the silver veins in the grain structure.

Edited by Matt S

Did you use lump charcoal or briquettes?  What kind of furnace?  Blower? Feed rate? Without seeing pictures, you're describing what sounds like a wildly variable carbon content with perhaps some dendritic carbide formation (the veins).  

Yeah, pics would really help. ;)  Can you take a phone pic and email it to yourself and post it that way?  Or even a plain old phone pic?