Sign in to follow this  
Edward paul

Bayonet

Looking for help identifying this bayonet.  Can someone help? No identifying letters or numbers anywhere on the item, but does have a number of ornate markings. Have no idea of the era or country of origin. Help 

F0BE1E2B-68D7-44CD-B447-03C6017FEE52.jpeg

97C6B69D-CB40-4D56-A8DB-3528EA1E9F9D.jpeg

7655F76A-A09F-43C0-8560-53DB1AB6539D.jpeg

A9D0AA71-15A4-4718-909A-754B1D81D11E.jpeg

DC95B9C8-298D-4848-9A76-3B60EF691B41.jpeg

D139AE3F-1DB1-487A-8E20-864F72709B3E.jpeg

33CF0307-8252-4CB7-BB3F-F884444FF291.jpeg

D46EEBA9-C5F5-40BE-AC1A-AA259B770AB8.jpeg

I am far from an expert, and since we are makers here (mostly) rather than collectors, knowledge may be a little thin.  The mounting system is strange, and the marks on the blade makes me think India (?).

Where are you, where did you find it, do you have any more info?

g

Are there any marking on the spine, flowers or stars, perhaps?  On a FB forum dealing with swords and the like, the thought is that it's 18th century, perhaps a broken, re-mount of a sword, and European.  If it's the tip of a sword, that would be why there are no makers marks.  A broken sword re-mounted on a bayonet handle?  Maybe.

g

Its unlikely to be indian. the indians used various versions of the British lee enfield from the late 1800's to almost present day. and that isnt an enfield bayonet. it doesnt look like a european type bayonet mounting at all, not from the major powers anyway. i cant rule out there is some eastern european rifle i have never seen that has that huge parralel lug on it.

interesting find.