Ron Benson

Distal taper plus flat grind

As a rank newbie, I want to grind a distal taper on a blank. It is shaped to a drop point. I have enough 1/4" 5160 that someone gave me to make at least 8 hunter sized knives, so I'm not worried if I screw one up.  :blink: Anyway, it looks fairly straight forward - just scribe the lines and grind to them... I'd be very appreciative for any tips though, and I have watched a bunch of youtube videos.

And if I decide to go wild and also try to add a full flat grind, it looks like I would grind that taper stopping when I reach the top of the blade. I'm guessing that since the point tapers towards the center of the blade, I will have enough steel that I don't wind up grinding the edge to nothin'. Is that correct, and are there any gotchyas?

Thanx ~ Ron

Posted (edited)

1/4" is quite thick for a hunter, even with distal taper. 

A blade with a drop on the spine will naturally taper if you keep your grind parallel with the edge, if you don't tilt the blade when you're at the belly. At least, that's what I figured out.

And you are correct regarding the point. 

Edited by Joël Mercier

3 hours ago, Ron Benson said:

are there any gotchyas?

Tons of them. They will make themselves apparent soon enough!

Seriously though, Joël has clarified most of the mystery behind a distal taper when working stock removal. I forge my knives and get my distal tapers starting much further back than where the drop in the point begins. You can get the same effect with stock removal by striking a center line down the spine as well as the edge. Then you lay the blade blank (before you start grinding the bevels) flat against the platen (edge down) and slowly drag the blade from where you want the taper to start, to the point thinning it more toward the point.  Use the center line as a reference to get the tapers even. After you have ground the distal taper in, flip the blade edge up and grind the bevels in.

You do have a center line scribe tool, yes?