I am going to be heat treating my next knife and had a question concerning baffle pipes. Has anyone ever tried filling the pipe with some kind of material ( like vermiculite) to help control temperature fluctuations? Or is this just crazy talk? Thanks.

Thermal mass is what you need and is the absolute opposite to an insulator like vermiculite. A very thick pipe would help but temp fluctuations should be managed mostly at the source. 

Thanks for the reply Joël. I never really thought of vermiculite as an insulator but I guess it is. I was thinking it would act as thermal mass, once it got hot, that you could slide the blade in and out of as you thermal cycled.

What would be the minimum wall thickness recommended?

BTW been meaning to ask you what kind of whisky?

A quarter inch should be fine. 

About the whisky, I like pretty much any kind :lol:

I've been using 1/8" wall pipe for several years.  It has lost a lot to scale on the outside, but should be good for another several years.  This is in a coal forge.  With gas you should have a more even heat to start with.  And you don't want anything in the pipe except a small lump of charcoal pushed to the far end.  That way you can see decalescence and avoid scale at the same time.

Do you close off the back end of the pipe?

Yes, that is a requirement.  Otherwise you just get a chimney effect and extra oxidation.

• Thanks 1

Well I got the knife heat treated and for the first time I did a sacrificial blade before the real knife to break it and check the grain. I didn't end up using a muffle pipe. I did end up using this heat treat forge that I threw together a while ago with the thought it would be good for longer pieces once I get to that level. I was really curious to see how it would work. It's 10 inch diameter duct pipe lined with one inch of Kaowool ( or the equivalent - don't remember the brand I bought) and two layers of satinite. Burner is a tiny 1/2 inch side arm. IMG_1267.jpg

IMG_1264.jpg

IMG_1265.jpg