Thomas Price

Beginner here with some questions

So I’ve decided to try my luck with bladesmithing and i am very excited! I am already in the works of obtaining an old air compressor tank for my forge tomorrow from a coworker for free. Score there. 

1) As far as hammers and tongs are concerned, can I just buy my hammers from Lowe’s? Do they sale a bladesmithing quality of hammer? The tongs I will look at buying from a flea market or farrier outfit if I can find one or if you guys can recommend a place/website I would be greatful. 

2) is leaf spring steel a good starter metal for a beginner? Is there a particular set of years in the automotive years to look for when hunting leaf springs? My dad seems to favor studabaker leaf spring steel because at the time he was able to get a hold of some and did well with only simple tools.

Thank you in advance guys!

Dont buy a lowes hammer. I dont believe they sell wooden handled anymore. Tractor supply has a decent 3.5lb for $20 same with harbor freight actually. 

Making your own tongs is an excellent exercise for beginners, but if you'd rather just make knives; contact @JJ Simon for a pair of his monkey tail flatbar tongs. $50 shipped to your door. Sometimes he's easier to get in touch with on facebook. Those are great for bladesmithing. If you follow the correct procedure you can forge an entire knife with those. 

And what Geoff said!

Posted (edited)

Thomas,

First of all, what Geoff and Zeb said. Then there's this.