Blake McFarland

Want to metal etch, but all modern Battery jump starters won't work. What to use?

I am very new to knife making and I want to try metal etching. It seems almost everyone uses car battery chargers. I have already went to 3 different stores and have tried 4 different battery chargers. They will not work because in order for them to give an output they need to sense the alligator clamps on an actual battery with minimal charge. Is there any specific battery charger that you can purchase new that works? What If I just get a regular car battery and alligator clam from that? 

I have looked on craigslist and all the various sites and cannot seem to find an old one. 

Any insight will help.

Thank you!

Interesting......planned to do the same, and I strongly suspect my el cheapo will have the same issue.

I'll open mine up and see what I can see ;)

You can indeed just use a battery.  Of course, then you'll need a charger anyway... ;)

Radio Shack used to have a book called "building power supplies" that was pretty good.  I built the supply for an electrolysis tank from those plans, and you could probaby etch with it as well.  It's been 24 years since I did that, I should see if I can find it...

Does anyone know if an electric fence charger would work? If so, there are two types - continuous and pulsed. Would one work better than the other?

2 hours ago, Alan Longmire said:

You can indeed just use a battery.  Of course, then you'll need a charger anyway... ;)

Radio Shack used to have a book called "building power supplies" that was pretty good.  I built the supply for an electrolysis tank from those plans, and you could probaby etch with it as well.  It's been 24 years since I did that, I should see if I can find it...

Haha I know! Sometimes technology just sucks! I ended up getting a small Alarm Battery. Waiting for it in the mail. I will give an update once I try it. I wish radio shacks were around still. 

57 minutes ago, dragoncutlery said: