Brian Dougherty

New Slip-joint Design

I've been enjoying making slip-joints based on a design published in this book for the last few months, and have been wanting to get away from using another maker's design.  I like the look of "Coke bottle" or "Fiddle back" folders, and have taken a stab at drawing up my own version.

Sketching this was an iterative process as I "rotated" the blade in and out to check clearances.  The #3 version is where I am at right now.  It would be much easier to do this in CAD, but I do that for a living, and would rather doodle in a sketch book for relaxation. 

Mechanically, I am pretty confident in the design as I followed the design methodology described in the book and I have a good understanding of how all the dimensions interact.  However, I would like some feedback on the aesthetics.  I know a lot of people do not like the exposed corner that sticks out on many traditional slip-joints when closed, and I respect that sentiment.  I made the decision to keep that on this one.  After carrying one of my other folders around every day for the last 4 months, I have gown fond of feeling for that corner when I pull the knife from my pocket.  (Call me crazy)

I'm very fond of the look of old-school folders, and plan to make the first one of these with nickel silver bolsters and stag or jigged bone scales.

The last few knives I have made with pivot bushings to make the final assembly more predictable, and will continue doing that, although I don't show it in the sketch.

Thanks in advance!

scan.jpg

• Like 1

Brian,

I love it, I would buy it......only thing I want more is to make some......

Something about #3 bothers me, looking at #2, to my eye the flare right at the end is a bit too much.

So #3 with the last half inch of #2 B)

Edited by Gerhard Gerber
  • Thanks 1