Florian F Fortner

WIP German Fechtfeder

Since I started training with two-handed swords recently, I had to start a new project right away: A proper Fechtfeder. Everything on the market is made for abuse and a low price and therefore not even close to a desired handling characteristic.

The original that inspired me was a practice sword by Ulrich Diefstetter from the MET. The blade is modeled after 3D scans of extant Feders from Belgium. Here is how it should look finally (minus the blade etching and a simpler crossguard decoration for this first take) :

MET_Feder_SW.jpg

Blade cut and roughly ground, Crossguard in rough finish and a slab of wood for the grip:

P1080023.JPG

Matching up the crossguard:

P1080024.JPG

Detailing the quillon block:

P1080025.JPG

• Like 1

Looking really good so far. 

Indeed it is!  I love watching your WIPs.

Short update: Blade finished to 80grit, grip formed and bound with hemp yarn (I will never do one without again, the possibility of breakage by the vibrations and movements of the long tang is too high).  Again: the major work are the fullers in the Schilt (wide part at the base of the blade) done with half-round files and sandpaper on steel cylinders. It's time to get the 4" and 6" grinding wheels for the belt grinder ready... ^_^

P1080026.JPG

P1080027.JPG

• Like 1

Nice engraving on the cross!

I second that! 

Binding the grip is interesting. I never would have considered that. A handy piece of information for an aspiring swordsmith like myself!

Peter Johnsson showed how he does his grips at Owen Bush's hammer-in in 2010, and also in this thread: