Jeff Dalbey

Any advice welcome

This is my first attempt at building a forge and I've not forged a damn thing yet (though I did make a smelter from an old propane tank to melt down precious metal) ..so I'm building a three-torch forge from an old well pump tank I got for $25, the stand cost $20, pipes cost around $40 I suppose.  I've painted the inside with 2000° heat paint, then lining the outer layer with about 4" thick 2000°+ insulation followed by 1" ceramic insulation and then ITC-100 (or something cheaper if I can find where to buy).  I know it's huge, but I couldn't pass up the deal for the tank and it was already fitted with threaded connections that I reconfigured for my piping.  The second pic doesn't have the opening I put on the other end, and I'm replacing the hair dryer with an old leaf blower connected to a "dimmer" switch to control the forced air speed. 

Any thoughts, constructive criticism?  I've not tested the leaf blower, but the hair dryer wasn't enough power to get a good air /fuel mix on 2 torches so I know it won't do on three. 

IMG_20191006_110313.jpg

IMG_20190919_174126.jpg

IMG_20191013_111629.jpg

IMG_20191013_111614.jpg

IMG_20190919_174119.jpg

Edited by Jeff Dalbey

Good start, but it sounds like a bit of overkill on the insulation and air supply. I made a heat treat forge for swords from a 100 lb propane tank, and my air supply is just a blower fan, which is usually not even ran at full delivery. A leaf blower, even throttle down, will probably be way more air than needed, and annoyingly loud on top of that.I will get a rating off my fan if possible and post it. Pipe size is possibly the issue.

heattreatforge.jpg

Edited by SteveShimanek
  • Thanks 1