Paul Rohrbacher

Steel thickness & type for Damascus blades

I am new to making Damascus blades. 15N20 seams to be the desired steel for the silver appearance in the Damascus pattern. Other carbon steels such as 1080/1084, O1, W1, 1095 are all listed as good steal to partner with 15N20. Looking thru the knife blade material suppliers shows various thicknesses of each of these steels. The thinner the steels, the more layers can be forged in the initial billet.

Can you recommend what your favorite steel type numbers are for the billet? What is the best thickness for each steel?  What is a good pattern sequence of these steels as stacked into the billet? How many times do you recommend  folding the billet? How many layers  of steel give the best Bling? 

I assume that each time the billet is to be folded, the billet is ground to a flat, scale free surface before the next weld. How much extra thickness of the initial steel layers  (or added layers of steel) do you add to the initial billet to account for the steel removed from grinding so the final billet can be forged into the desired knife blade? 

After the Damascus blade is ground to shape, is then etched. What is your recommended etching solution concentration, solution temperature  and time to etch? The 15N20 steel stays bright and the other carbon steels will be eaten away making the 15N20 layers stand proud. After the black carbon deposit is removed from the fresh etched knife blank the carbon steel won't be significantly darker in the pattern. What is the best way to darken carbon steels to better pop the Damascus pattern?  

If possible, what are your favorite suppliers for the steel grades that you use to make Damascus blades?

I will be using the Mark Aspery design Side Blast Forge with the Super Sucker Hood , burning coked coal with green coal around the outside of the fire.. 

Lots and lots of questions there.

L6 also works well as a bright layer in damascus. It's a high nickel tool steel.