Sign in to follow this  
John N

When to start teaching ?

Just musing. I've been playing with bladesmithing / hot metal for ten or fifteen years now. (and been involved in forging machinery my whole working life)

I have started to build an instagram presence for my kitchen knives, and every 3rd DM enquiry is now someone wanting to try making a knife.

I still feel like a noob making sometimes, yet I have seen someone who I know has 1 year experience total, and really does not know the basics of forging, running knife making / bladesmithing courses, and seemingly selling them out.

I've 'taught' in so much as I will sometimes have a 1/2 day with someone running them through forging a knife, if they have shown enough interest, and I enjoy doing so. They always go away buzzing. 

At the moment I don't need the money, and have enough on my plate, but charging for teaching could be something on the cards for the future, sooooo, to the gist of the thread!

Teachers, when did you feel ready for teaching ? what was the 'click point' you thought, or knew, you could charge for your experience?

Attendees of courses!  I have taken the odd paid for course, and I know my triggers for doing so, but what would make you part with your hard earned ?

All thoughts, however random, appreciated :)

I struggled with it John, but it was always on my radar....went to Uni to learn to teach History.

Would think your niche would be to help smiths get more efficient with forging or prototyping their product line....with complement of selling a tool kit to do so.

My hurdles have been many. Insurance being one of them and it took a while to sort out.

Ric

Better hurry up before the FiF hype fade out :lol:

1 hour ago, Joël Mercier said:

Better hurry up before the FiF hype fade out :lol:

I cant wait. Remember when everyone wanted a chopper (useless motorcycle)?