Ron Benson

Do you think this mini forge is worth the effort...

... for a total newbie? I had no plans for getting any type of heat treat equipment, but I ran across this video today. Simple to build and very cheap. But as a newbie, I'm concerned about controlling temps. But maybe there are some beginner friendly steels that might work for someone like me? I'm not talking about forging at this time - only heat treating.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ifTIuNt3aNY

Thanx for looking.

Edit to add that once you view a topic on you tube, they send you more videos on that subject, so I am now getting other similar videos - including coffee can forges. These just add to the confusion... :wacko:

Edited by Ron Benson

It'll definitely do the trick.   Personally, I'm considering building a heat treat forge like this one:

Cheap to build, and I think it'll be more consistent and much more user friendly. 

For steels, you can search this site and find all kinds of threads discussing the "best" beginner steel.  I think the general consensus has been that 1080/1084 is arguably going to be the simplest to heat treat accurately and yield good results.  There are definitely other options as well, 5160 is another one, with a little research you can find the best one for you.

Or, the very first pinned thread in "Beginner's Place"

If all you plan to use it for is heat treatment, all you will be able to use a forge for is the hardening. Shove a baffle tube in there and learn to watch for decalescence/recalescense. Temper in the kitchen oven for the controlled heat when needed.

Edited by Joshua States

One thing to watch for in those videos: most of them have no idea what or why they're doing.  The main thing to know is that plaster of paris with sand is NOT a refractory mix.  It'll hold up for a session or two, but that's it.