Sign in to follow this  
Tim Mitchell

Close or copy of a Maker's Mark.. what to do?

Hi all, I have been using my maker's mark on knives since around 2002 and today I came across a guy using a very similar makers mark.  I am looking for some feedback concerning if I should ask him to change his mark or not.  Mine is on the Ricasso and his is on the pommel of the knife.  As you can see the marks are pretty close and his looks like a slightly stylized version of mine, essentially he has just lengthened the legs of the A.  They look close enough to be confused by some customers which is something that I don't want.  Please be free with your comments... I don't want to be a stick in the mud, but I also want to protect my mark.

Cheers, Tim.

Screen Shot 2019-11-18 at 10.20.41 pm.pngScreen Shot 2019-11-18 at 10.07.19 pm.pngScreen Shot 2019-11-18 at 10.05.45 pm.png

It think there are good chances it is not intentional, alpha/omega being being somewhat universal. Perhaps you could have a polite discussion about it without asking him to change his mark. He may decide to do it on his own.

• Like 1

Did a quick search, lot's of folks using Alpha and Omega , as Joel wrote, universal.  Since you're using a common symbol as your mark, I don't think you have any way of protecting it as your property.

Thanks Gerald, I did a search for Alpha Omega genearally and it is amazing how many people have this kind of symbol on various other businesses.  When I started out 17 years ago I was the only one who had this kind of symbol in any business, all these are recent designs.