Sign in to follow this  
Dane Lance

Power hammers and cement slabs

Hello!  Newbie here and I have questions concerning power hammers.

I've read/heard elsewhere that you can't really run a power hammer on a cement slab as it will crack it?  Is this true for all power hammers, or only for those over a certain weight?

You can safely run most mechanical hammers up to 50 pounds ram weight on a 4" slab with no problems as long as there's a solid base under the slab.  You can run larger hammers on a 4" slab if you "float" them on a timber raft of 4x4s bolted together.  Up to a point, of course.  Anything over 150lbs needs an isolation pad/separate foundation slab for best performance.  How big depends on the hammer.  If you're buying new the maker will have plans for this.  If you're buying used, you might be able to find recommended sizes somewhere.

How big a hammer are you asking about?  Something like a 25lb Little Giant can be run on almost any surface once bolted down to keep it from bouncing around the shop, while a Nazel 5B needs a block about 5 feet wide by ten feet long by three feet deep, preferably mounted on short heavy springs, with a 1" gap filled with rubber around the sides.

The big hammers like Nazel pretty much all had separate foundations.  OTOH, my homebuilt 50# has been on a platform of 4x12 timbers since 2000 and never cracked the floor.

So the answer is, it depends.  It depends on the weight of the hammer, the construction of the floor, and the construction of the base, and probably other things I haven't thought of.

Geoff

Thanks guys!

I'm not in a hurry for a hammer, but when/if I go that route, I'm thinking something light.  Before I go with a hammer, I want to get a press and I'm considering converting a log splitter.  I know, it's not optimal, but I just can't justify the price of a commercial forging press.  This is, after all, a hobby.