Chris Christenberry

Tools and Equipment Musings.

It probably hasn't been missed by many, but I'm a total newbie.  Trying to get a forge up and running from scratch.................which every one of you has had to do unless you inherited a forge facility fully stocked with tools and equipment.  :lol:

I'm presently working on my forced air ribbon burner forge. Was able to locate a beautiful 100# Fisher anvil and put it on a "proper" stump. (as seen in my avatar)  Located, cleaned up and mounted a nice 4" leg vise.  I have a couple of nice ovens my Dad used in his jewelry business that are more than adequate for heat treating and tempering.  (though I could benefit from better temp and time controls)  I can limp by with my 1x30 belt sander for now because I'm only making wood carving knives at this point.

So now it comes down to building/buying a 2x72 belt grinder; either buying a digital temp/time controller for my ovens or outright buying a dedicated knife oven;  building/buying a hydraulic press; building/buying power hammer.

In an effort to make good decisions as to what to do in all of the above builds/purchases, I've been spending a lot of time studying up on what is available.  As most of you have done, I've spent many (probably way more than "just" many):rolleyes:  hours watching Youtube videos and reading information dug up on the internet.  I've tried not to get caught up in the internet "experts" who have little or nothing in the way of quality finished product to back up their decisions/opinions.  I've stuck with people who have an impressive list of sold knives to back up what they claim in their videos as a way to look at their choices of tools and equipment.  While I'm aware good tools/equipment "does not a bladesmith make",  it's my opinion that a good bladesmith isn't going to use sorry equipment forever once they start making money selling blades.