Hi all!!! How are you? This is my first post in this prestigious forum, I hope they are very good.

I am Jorge Iruzubieta, from Argentina. I am 46 years old. I've been making knives for a few years but as a hobby. Until I decided a while ago to start doing them in a more professional way since I'm really passionate about blades.

That is why some time ago I bought an electric oven to do heat treatments. I use 5160 steel. I made some specimens (probetas)  and hardened them at different temperatures to see what the ideal temperature is in my oven. The temperatures were from left to right: 830, 840, 850, 860 and 870 ° C. I broke them to see the size of the grain. I photographed them. I have no practice in observing grain size. I understand that what is observed in the photographs is fine but I would like your opinion. I would also like to be told what temperature they think is the most suitable for hardening this steel (5160) as seen in the photographs. I will really appreciate your help. I hope this message is understood as I do not speak English and I am using a translator.
Later I will upload photographs of some of my works.

Thank you very much!
Greetings to all.
Jorge Iruzubieta

DSC00994.JPG

DSC00993.JPG

DSC00991.JPG

Edited by jorge iruzubieta

830°c provides maximum hardness and toughness. And according to some lab tests, optimal toughness is obtained with a 205°c temper. 

You did not mention in which state the steel was before the quench. Proper normalisation must be done first.

27 minutes ago, Joël Mercier said:

830°c provides maximum hardness and toughness. And according to some lab tests, optimal toughness is obtained with a 205°c temper. 

You did not mention in which state the steel was before the quench. Proper normalisation must be done first.

Joel, thank you very much for answering !!! I did not do any heat treatment before hardening.
I can see now that maybe I should have normalized before.