Sign in to follow this  
Brian Dougherty

Sound Financial Decisions

I am an odd duck in a lot of ways.  One of my less than normal habits is that I have grown fond of driving older sports cars as a daily driver.  A few years ago I rebelled and got away from the pick-up/SUV/Station Wagon rut I had been in for years, and bought an old BMW Z3 that I drove every day.  I swapped winter and summer tires with the seasons, and it was literally the only car I had to drive.  (I have others, but the rest of the family uses them on a daily basis)

That car got rear-ended and totaled, so I bought another one.  I've been driving the second one for a few years now as my only car.  It will be 21 years old next April.

This weekend, I decided to sell the Z3 and "Upgrade" to this:

image (1).jpg

I know, I am nuts.  Jumping from a 20-year old BMW to a 14-year old Porsche is not something that many would consider to be a good judgement call.  However, in my mind, I paid used Toyota Camry money for this car, and would rather be in it than something boring.  I can fix most things myself, and am generally up for an adventure.

I may have to get the roof rack.  With the Z3 I could bring home 10' lumber as long as the top was down. (Well, 2 or 3 boards at a time)  I may miss that ability with the Cayman.

Wish me luck if you would.  The "Porsche tax" is a real thing, and parts for this are a lot more expensive than the baby Beemer.  However, if it gets real ugly, I have the means to just go buy a normal car.  For now, the adventure continues...

• Like 2

Those cars are generally quite reliable by German standards. Way better than BWM imo.

A true odd duck into older sports cars drives a Triumph TR6, an Austin Healey 3000, or a Sunbeam Tiger.  German cars are too reliable by far, and there's good reason you never see Alfa Romeo Spyders anymore...:lol:

37 minutes ago, Alan Longmire said: