Chris Christenberry

With or without a sheath?

I'm curious how many of you sell knives without sheaths.  I'm just getting into this hobby/sport/pastime/passion/obsession and don't really have any desire to learn leathercraft on top of everything else.  Do many bladesmiths "just" make knives and leave the leatherwork up to the purchaser?

When it comes to knives which I sell, I really only make two "types," hunting knives and kitchen knives. Both of these terms are loose, hunting knives could be skinners, gutting knives, filet knives, EDCs, etc. Kitchen knives could be chefs, paring knives, steak knives, etc. 

That being said, all of my hunting knives get leather sheaths. These knives are almost always carried into the field, so they need something to carry it in. 

Kitchen knives are not usually transported much, so I dont worry too much about sheaths unless they are specifically requested. Siyas are another interesting option for kitchen knives. But a sheath for a chefs knife can usually exclude the belt loop typically found on hunting sheaths, for reasons I dont think I need to explain :lol:.

Simple leather working doesnt really require many specialized tools. The most expensive part of the process is the leather itself, at least the way I do it. Leather tooling CAN get outrageous if you so choose to go that route. 

No, no, no.............(as I go kicking and screaming)...............I really don't want to get into sheath making.  :rolleyes:  And I don't know anyone who will make them for me for a decent fee.

You could always use Kydex to make sheaths, the process of making a sheath seems easier that way. Though it may not look that great. 

Thanks, Conner, but I'm far too traditional for Kydex sheaths..............though they have their place.  If I were making a camp knife for rugged outdoor use, I'd go with Kydex for sure.

Nobody is twisting your arm to make sheaths. You dont HAVE to make sheaths, after all.