Sign in to follow this  
Bjorn Gylfason

First attempt at a bastard sword

Hello, new here and wanted to show off my latest build. Just recently got a power hammer and the amount of metal it can move inspired me to try making bigger blades.

Blade is spring steel recycled from old agricultural equipment. With closer forging I might be able to go bigger with those springs but not by much

Crossguard and pommel made from, quite possibly medieval, wrought iron that I got a bar of from a friend that had gotten it out of a church built 1150

Handle leather over beech core

Weight: 1193grams
Oal: 107 cm
Blade length: 87cm
Pob: 16cm from guard
Cop: 56cm from guard
Blade width at base 43mm
7,5mm thick at base

I'm still a rank amateur so any constructive criticism is welcome

IMG_20200102_111954867.jpg

• Like 1

That's a nice introduction!  You've obviously been following the work of Peter Johnsson, too.  It looks great from here, I must say.  As long as you got the heat treatment right, I say good job. B)

• Thanks 1

3 hours ago, Alan Longmire said:

That's a nice introduction! 

Yes indeed. Welcome aboard Bjorn. 

Not being anything other than a rank amateur at swords myself, there's not much I can offer in terms of constructive criticism.

The only thing I can offer is in the handle where the leather wrap rolls up on the ends. Was that intentional? I usually see that tucked in and under the guard or pommel.

• Thanks 1

3 hours ago, Alan Longmire said:

That's a nice introduction!  You've obviously been following the work of Peter Johnsson, too.  It looks great from here, I must say.  As long as you got the heat treatment right, I say good job. B)

Thank you. Yes I've been looking at his work for some time now, always good to have something great to strive for. The heat treat was interesting but manageable, for future projects I will definently want to build a vertical forge dedicated to heat treating long blades

29 minutes ago, Joshua States said: