Will_Linton_UT

Large Sickle for yard care

I have a yard care business and I want to make a very large sickle like the ones these ladies have, but I am extremely new to bladesmithing and I need to know what kind of metal would be best suited for this kind of project.  I have watched the video dozens of times and it looks like there may be a fuller in the blade as well.  Any suggestions, or resources you would recommend checking out?  I have a friend with a half acre of pasture this would be nice to have to do some trimming with.

Edited by Will_Linton_UT
add video
  • Like 1

Some one may know better, but given what I know about scythes, I'd bet that they are low carbon, maybe even the equivalent of mild steel.  Grass is very abrasive and so rather than have a hard edge which cuts for a while, but is hard to sharpen, the blades are soft, but a couple of strokes on a stone, or a peening over a stake puts the edge right back on them.  It would also not surprise me if they had a "T" shaped spine.

Geoff 

Maybe something like 1050?  It hardens well enough with a water quench to hold its shape, but sharpens up pretty easily as well.

I have a very old and rusty sickle hanging up in my shop for decoration.  It's quite a bit smaller than the ones in the video.  If I remember later today (after I get done plowing snow:angry:) I'll spark it and see what it shows.  I'm not good enough to determine a specific grade, but I can tell the difference between mild and high carbon.

The Swedish "Klassiskt Jarnsmide" book shows the making of one.  Only available in Swedish, but lots of pictures

Edited by Gerald Boggs