Sign in to follow this  
ChrisBriggs

Chronic/overuse injuries- how to avoid, manage etc???

My question up front is this: is there a proper way, a proper form, or some other factor used to avoid or minimize the onset, impact, or severity of chronic overuse injuries? What does everyone else out there do to manage things like this?

So a little context. I'm a Physician Assistant in an interventional pain clinic; I'm a prior soldier (Army, infantry and PA as well for total of 15 years), and I've been smithing for about 4 years, although more seriously (consistently, usually 3-6 hours/day, at least 3-4 days/week) over the last 2-3 years. I've begun noticing some chronic aches and pains over the last about 12-18 months. Most specifically my left elbow (I hammer with my left hand). I've got "lateral epicondylitis" or "tennis elbow" that WAS a minor annoyance which was initially fairly responsive to the typical self care techniques I preach day in and day out- rest/avoidance of aggravating activity (the hardest of them all :D), ice, compression, elevation, NSAID (Ibuprofen or similar) use routinely, Tylenol as needed, etc. Currently using basically all of the above plus a compression sleeve a few hours here and there. The pain does seem to respond and decrease by maybe 30% as long as I don't hammer. That only remains an option for so long!!! LOL Now the pain is becoming less responsive, more intense, and when I do hammer (which has been only minimal over the last ~2 weeks) I can only hammer for a few minutes before I'm unwilling to continue worsening the pain. The pain gets bad enough that I find even holding a hammer to be difficult to the point that I've dropped my hammer or lost control of it. Now like I said, I'm a Pain Service Physician Assistant and I know what I would say to my patients ("like it or not you may have to stop doing the aggravating activity") but let us all be honest- that isn't happening. For real. I would truly appreciate any input anyone might have