Sign in to follow this  
Alex Middleton

Ladder pattern question

I welded up a billet today that ended up with a few flaws in it.  I'm going to keep going with it to see if I get the pattern that I'm looking for before I start on another one.  I'm planning on trying a version of a ladder pattern, but I've never done one before.  Out of curiosity, after I finish putting in the grooves, should the follow on forging be done at a welding heat?  Is there a better way to avoid cold shuts when flattening the billet back out?

Welding heat is good.  Make sure you round off the tops of the grooves and you shouldn't have cold shuts.  It's sharp edges that contribute to that.  How are you cutting the grooves? 

• Thanks 1

16 hours ago, Alex Middleton said:

Is there a better way to avoid cold shuts when flattening the billet back out?

Hi Alex.  Not sure if you saw this, but here's a thread I posted earlier that may help:

• Thanks 1

Alan, I'm planning on grinding them in for the most part, and then cleaning up with a file.  Thanks for the tip on rounding off the corners, I'll make sure I do that.

Thanks for that link Billy.  I had forgotten about that thread, there's some good info there.

I actually managed to find some shop time this afternoon so I worked on this a bit more.  I wanted to something a little different than a straight up ladder pattern, so I ended up marking my grooves with a cutoff wheel, widening them out a bit with the corner of a square file, and then finishing them with an 8" half round file.  Since it's a dagger, and I wanted symmetry, I tapered the depths from the edge up to the spine on both sides.  It ended up looking like this:

20200209_162525(0).jpg

Being another snowy day here, I didnt really feel like working on the honey-do list so I pulled the forge out and fired it up.

20200209_163219.jpg

After a very rough grind and a test etch, I was excited to see the pattern come out pretty much like I'd hoped for:

20200209_175711.jpg