Chris Christenberry

Question about hidden pins

As some of you know, I'm just getting started in this journey.  One of the things I've considered experimenting with is attaching slab handles with hidden pins.  I think I fully understand the "how", but what I'm curious about is "how durable" are they?  I presently use AcraGlass for epoxy and mix it for the full 4 minutes as the instruction say to do.  (I've already learned from experience it's not good to under-mix this stuff!)  :angry:  So are hidden pins as effective as through pins?

Edited by Chris Christenberry

I run a groove round the center of the pin (on the edge of the belt on the grinder) and add a countersink to both the underside of the scale and the tang so there is a dam of epoxy that locks into the groove in the pin and in any case the pins are more to help with  sheer than to hold the scales on, so hidden pins should be no less secure than through pins all else being equal. I have done a couple this way and had complete confidence in the method. 

• Like 1

I use the edge of a halfround file to put several notches all over my pins, same idea as Garry, a mechanical lock caused by the glue.

With the right glue and some penetration into the handle material I can assure you it's very strong. 

• Like 1

Yup, guys, I know the "how".  What I was seeking was reassurance it holds well.  I certainly don't want any knives coming back with dissatisfied customers.

With accraglas and roughed-up pins you will not be getting any returns for handle failure. 

• Like 1

Thanks, Alan.

I'm going to disagree to a point with the others here. A pin only adds a mechanical bond in one direction, either horizontally or vertically but not both (unless they are peened). So if you are thinking of pins going through the tang and only partially through the scales then they're not as strong. I prefer to have both a mechanical as well as a chemical bond on my handles. Just my $.02.

• Like 1