Mystery project for 2020

I'm endeavoring on a high-risk project for KITH this year, and wasn't going to do  WIP until I got over the hump.  However, buy then I'll be too lazy to go back and harvest a few months worth of photos to create a detailed post so I decided to just leave this here to irritate ya'll.

I had a cable/1084 san-mai billet that was way to wide and thin to do what I wanted.  I had to take a bit of it from 2" x3/16" to closer to 1" x 3/8".

More to come, but it's going to be a while.  Have some other things that need to get done...

IMG_20200307_100405751.jpg

Edited by Brian Dougherty

I forsee a smallish blacksmiths knife that the handle is curved around to resemble vines. 

I need to get my arse in gear, parts for my heat treat oven are arriving this week. 

This is something that I have never tried before, and my reason for picking this as my KITH project.  Believe it or not, I've never tried to forge a fuller, or beveled a blade that had a central fuller.  (I've always ground them)

I had to make the fullering tool today, but I got the fuller in and about 1/3 of the way through beveling before my propane tank started freezing up.

I still have a lot of forging to do.  Once the bevels are in I'll probably go back over the fuller lightly to even it out and smooth out any wonkiness I create in the process.  I need to draw the tang out a bit more and clean up the transition area as well.

IMG_20200314_182450272.jpg

IMG_20200314_190256297.jpg

• Like 3

I see I was completely off on my guess. 

but damn if that isnt a fine start, I gotta swap out my breaker before I can get started, seems 15A breakers are the norm now and my Grinder and soon to be built heat treat oven require 20A breakers. 

Posted (edited)

I have other projects I should be finishing, but am having a hard time staying away from this one, so I got quite a bit done today.