Hey y'all, just curious-

What's everyone's preferred type of tang to build, and why?

I've now made hidden, full and through tangs, and I think a through tang with a cold peened end makes the most sense to me. Seems easier to make, and I like the nice solid mechanical securement of the peened end holding everything together.

A full tang on the other hand, seems like kind of a nightmare trying to get the holes to line up. I'm in the midst of pinning and gluing up the scales on one now. I'm a beginner, so I'm sure it'll become easier with practice (also I don't have a drill press)

And a hidden seems like it must be sacrificing strength when compared to a through tang. Thoughts?

Thanks,

Alex

From a strength standpoint,  I think all three styles are functionally equal.  Meaning that, built properly, they are all strong enough to do the job and last forever.

Personally, I find full tangs (without bolsters) to be the easiest to build.  I can see how not having a drill press would make it a touch more complicated, but still pretty straightforward.  

That being said, I prefer to build hidden tang knives. I dont really have a reason, just personal preference.  The only time I see a thru tang having an advantage is if you plan on incorporating a buttcap or pommel of some type.  Otherwise the pin through the handle gives you all the security you need to keep things together.

What Alex said.  If you're doing something boneheaded enough to snap the tang off, you're using the wrong implement for the job. ;)