Maciek

early medieval pattern-welded spearheads

Posted (edited)

Hello, my name is Maciej Tomaszczyk I am from Poland.This is my first post here but I registered in 2011. I am not a professional blacksmith. Blacksmithing is my passion. The most I like to forge ancient and early medieval replicas of spears and axes. Sometimes I use for it bloomery iron I smelting my own. In my works I try to use the same technics as ancient blacksmiths.  

Bellow same of my Viking age spears. If you have any questions about the technology I used, feel free to ask.

20181112_110248.jpg

pattern-welded spearheads based on the archeological finds (early medieval) from northern Poland.

IMG_20200425_153944.jpg

IMG_20200425_173031.jpg

Replica of earlymedieval spearhead from Lutomiersk (Poland). Entirely forged from scrap metal, in the core i used T-55 tank cannon, old steel rail and wrought iron wagon axle.

IMG_20200408_155526.jpgIMG_20200408_154503.jpgIMG_20200408_154513.jpg

Pattern welded spearhead, based on the find of the spear from Ostrów Lednicki (Poland). The total length of the replica is 50 cm. max. width 4.5. 

Edited by Maciek
  • Like 4

Wow!  I like them all, but that last one is just incredible.  :ph34r:

Excellent work!

Very impressive!

Posted (edited)

Fantastic work.  Any time you feel like posting a series of progress photos of your forging process (or a link to a video) I know that I, for one, would be extremely interested.

Edited by Dan Hertzson

20 minutes ago, Dan Hertzson said:

Fantastic work.  Any time you feel like posting a series of progress photos of your forging process (or a link to a video) I know that I, for one, would be extremely interested.

I have done one already about how to forge pattern-welded spear. And i plan to make more.

• Thanks 2

Thank you for the video, Maciek.  I thoroughly enjoyed watching the entire process.  What beautiful work you do.

• Like 1

2 minutes ago, Dan Hertzson said: