So I made a 3/8 copper billet to be a bolster on a knife. And while I was drilling through it, I snapped a drill bit!! How the blankety blank do you drill copper??? This was the grabbist crap I've ever worked with!!! I now have to make up another billet, but until I have a plan on getting through this stuff it seems a waste of time.

I'm not a pro machinist, but sometimes I act like one.

Flatter angled drills, or slightly duller drills seems to help.  Slow drill speed, and frequent pecking also help.

Copper and lead are two materials I do not enjoy drilling.

I use a hand drill on copper and silver for that very reason.  An eggbeater-type hand-powered drill, not a handheld electric drill.  No downfeed pressure, very sharp drills, just let it cut with its own weight.  Turn the crank at around 60 rpm.  If you try to force it it will grab and snap the bit, even hand-powered, up to 1/8" bits, anyway.  

Induce a negative rake on the bit and you'll drill both Copper and Acrylic much nicer.  With a negative rake and slower speed you can drill mirrored holes in Acrylic.  You are essentially scraping the hole rather than cutting it.

• Like 2

So...if I understand you, sharpen against the cutting edge of the drill. Make it lean back away from the flutes? Create a grinding bit instead of a cutting bit.

Posted (edited)

More like scraping? Something like 90 degrees to the material being cut.

I do a lot of work with brass, and usually grind a small facet on the drill lip pretty much in line with the length of the bit.

For the billet the drill broke off in, if the bit's still stuck in there, and you want it out, putting it in a heated solution of alum and water will rust the broken off bit to dust.

Old watch-maker's trick. I've...  certainly never used it on, say, broken 2-56 taps. (A lot of grocery stores will have alum in the spice section)

Edited by Stuart Samuel

1 hour ago, Brian Myers said: