so I am still pretty knew to knife making and have a limited arsenal of tools. I have enough to get the job done; like a 1x30 belt grinder, angle grinder, hand held drill, files, and sand paper. I heat treat with charcoal and a hair dryer for right now. Long story short, as I am new, any critiques (constructive) of my current works in progress? A chefs knife and a pair of larger pairing knives. Thank you in advance for and help. By the way, I'm using 1084 steel since I'm using charcoal to heat treat.

20200801_102057.jpg

• Like 2

A little too much belley in the handle of the chef knife for my taste but the blade profiles look good. Try taking the pics without the shadow so the profiles are more easily seen.

Edited by Garry Keown

I'm relatively new to making kitchen knives, so grain of salt disclaimer
I really like the pairing knives personally, and I'd be excited to use those to slice up apples and peel potatoes :)
Looking at the blade shape of the Chef's knife I'm wondering how effectively I could use the tip with the current angle of the up-sweep..I might put the tip a little closer in line with the middle of the blade, or elongate the curve so its not so severe?  I'm sure a lot of it is personal preference and how you use your knives, but it's the first thing to catch my eye :) 

This is great work, especially with the limited tools listed!  I can't wait to see the finished products!:D