New to smithing, a blade is in my future

Hey everyone,

I'm just starting out smithing. While I am not yet a bladesmith, I am about to attempt a knife for chopping charcoal. Crazy, huh?

I've made my own small charcoal forge and just finished my first set of tongs. Right now I am buying lump charcoal (cowboy brand) and using a hatchet to size it.

I have two newbie questions:

Are there many bladesmiths here who predominantly use charcoal to forge?

Is there a traditional (any tradition) pattern for a knife that is used to chop charcoal?

Taylor, near Jeddo TX

Hey Taylor: 

Charcoal has been used to forge in many traditions. There are others on the forum who know more than me on this topic, but Asian cultures, like Japan, who had limited coal deposits, developed charcoal forges long ago. While I am not a coal/charcoal forger, I understand that charcoal is cleaner burning than coal, and therefore makes welding a bit easier.

Most bladesmiths use propane forges today in my experience. They are simple, easy to build, and nearly every corner gas station sells the fuel to burn them. They are also clean burning, and you can easily see what's happening to the steel in the forge (because it's not buried beneath a pile of coals). It's much cheaper to run a propane forge  vs. buying charcoal, but I suppose if you were making your own charcoal you'd just have to weigh the time cost.

Anyway, this craft is not one for pure rationalists. If forging with charcoal strikes you as important, then do it, even if it's not as efficient as propane. The romance of this craft is far more important than many of us like to admit. 

YMMV, and welcome to the quest.

Dave

• Like 1