As you might know from my Youtube videos, I built myself a mighty metal dust collector. It seems to work alright but it made me wonder how I could test the quality of the air in my shop. I tried this laser illumination method:

IMG_20200919_113839.jpg

Has anyone here figured out how to measure the air quality in the shop?

Well the canonical way I used to use back in the day when I certified Clean Rooms for electronics and pharmaceutical firms is using a particle counter (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Particle_counter ).  They used to be very expensive, and I doubt that has changed a whole lot in the last 20 or 30 years.  Of course there were less high tech methods that included things like putting out sampling trays that allow material to settle on them and physically counting the number of particles in a fixed area using a microscope, but i have no direct experience with them.

Hi Dan, Particle Counters definitely seem like the the way to measure that. They are still very expensive, e.g. around $2000 for the cheapest version. Probably overkill for what I need. I like the non high tech method with the sampling tray. I will think about that.