Old Japanese Sword?

Hi everyone,  a friend of mine has asked if I can uncover any information regarding this old sword.

I have no knowledge of its history other than it being found inside a wall of a collapsing abandoned farmhouse.

Attached are some photos.

Any help much appreciated.Screenshot 2020-09-27 at 5.17.41 PM.pngScreenshot 2020-09-24 at 1.48.16 PM.pngScreenshot 2020-09-24 at 1.47.36 PM.pngScreenshot 2020-09-24 at 1.51.52 PM.pngScreenshot 2020-09-24 at 1.48.46 PM.pngScreenshot 2020-09-24 at 1.50.35 PM.pngScreenshot 2020-09-24 at 1.51.52 PM.png

Screenshot 2020-09-24 at 1.49.15 PM.png

IMG_4496.HEIC IMG_4497.HEIC

• Like 1

Typically, the smith will stamp his/her mark on the tang.  If there's not one you can see on the other side, this might be tough to identify.  To my untrained eye, that looks like a great score, however.  

What's left of the mounts makes me think WWII Japanese military issue.  The single square hole through the tsuba should have been for a scabbard latch.  It's pretty rough, I would not think that that there is much to recover.  Steve Shimanek  is the pretty knowledgeable on this stuff, hopefully he will weigh in .

Geoff

I think Geoff nailed it.  Looks like a Type 98 shin gunto tsuba with extra-thick seppa.  That doesn't mean the blade wasn't decent at one time.  

Here's what the bare tsuba would look like cleaned up:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/WW2-Japanese-Sword-Shin-Gunto-tsuba-/333417058321

and here is where to get better answers, but be prepared, these guys are serious:

https://www.militaria.co.za/nmb/topic/11852-gunto-tsuba/