Starting out. Trying different grinding methods.

New knife maker here. Starting out doing some stock removal to get my skills down. Then I hope to move into forging my own blades. 

Since I’m new, I’m not very good at grinding.    Since I have no experience at all, I got 2 different types of jigs and for a reference I free handed. I got Fred’s bubble jig, a creative man beveling jig/file guide, and then obviously free hand grinding. I went to Home Depot and got some mild steel and cut out a few knife blanks. To keep the results consistent I made the same style knife for all three.

The first two pictures are using the bubble jig. I started out with the 10° wedge to knock my edges off and set the bevel profile. Then I moved to the 5° block. That is where I stopped for that particular jig. I got really good results on one side, and some not so good results on the other side.

The second set of pictures are using the Creativemanman file guide and jig. I started out at a very sharp angle to knock the edges off and then progressively lowered the angle until my bevels where I wanted them. With this particular set up, I did find that I grind it over my center line very easily.

The last set of pictures are my attempt at free handing. I was very happy with the one side of the blade. Obviously pulling with my right hand is my strong side. Ignore the grind marks up near the top, I flattened the steel on my Platten and that’s where some of the grind marks near the spine of the blade are coming from.

All in all, I got good results on one side doing freehand and the bubble jig. The Creativeman file guide and jig gave me semi-consistent results from side to side, there was just a little problem of grinding over my centerline. This is obviously user error. I think I stayed at the same angle for too many passes as opposed to decreasing my angle when I should have.