It's been quite a while since I've started a new project.  I thought I'd post this as a WIP so hopefully somebody can chime in and point out my inevitable mistakes before I get too far. :D

I started with a 42 layer billet of 1084/15n20 that was around 3/16" thick.  I cut it in half and sandwiched it around a piece of 3/16" thick 1084.  It's my first try at a San-mai type construction so we'll see how centered it turns out.  I ground some grooves into each side after welding to give it a little bit of pattern disruption. 

20201114_150325.jpg

I didnt forge the bevels in to this one.  I'm thinking that the line between the layered billets and the core will turn out a bit higher if I grind them in instead.

20201114_165733.jpg

The plan is to end up with a hidden tang set into a piece of figured walnut with brass furniture.  

Im also planning to use a Petoskey stone (semi-precious gemstone native to Michigan) as a buttcap.

20201114_174852.jpg

Anybody have any advice for shaping and setting a stone like this?

Diamond tools for Dremels work great on stones, but it's hard to re-polish to match the tumbled finish.  If I were you I'd just flatten the back and call it good.  Do it in a shallow pan of water, stone dust is bad to breathe.  If it doesn't need much flattening, SiC sandpaper in water is great.  

For setting it, do you have a copy of JPH's The Master Bladesmith?  He has a good chapter on that.  

Thanks Alan.  I'll have to get so SiC sheets on order.  I've had both The Complete Bladesmith and The Master Bladesmith on my Amazon wishlist for quite some time.  I guess it's time to move them to the cart.  I'll just tell the wife it's my Christmas present for the year :D.

I managed to get the blade shape, and bevels filed in.  And a quick test etch because I can't ever resist looking at the pattern. :D

20201121_164201.jpg

The edge is 3.5", it'll be 4" to the guard. 

Edited by Alex Middleton
  • Like 5

That is going to be a pretty little knife . 

• Thanks 1