New to blade making with a tool question or three

Hi all!

I am just getting started in the world of knife making.  As of right now I have a AOS, rail road track pieces, files, angle grinders, flap disks, and cutting blades.  

I do have a lot of practice metal in the form of scrap to learn on.  I just acquired some more in a auction cheap.  I do not have a forge, but 2 propane torches.

My questions:

1. Do I need to really get or make a forge?  Im kinda handy, but feel a bit uncomfortable with making burners.

2. Bels sander is a needed piece of kit or go files for now?

3. Is it better to make my scales with wood I have, after I use Cactus Juice?  I seen the prices of scales and if I can make em, it would save a lot of money.

Lastly, I got some of these odd files at a auction.  Its called a body file.  Only way I found out is the one in its package, Blackhawk Shell Body File.  Is this good for removing a lot of   metal?  Picture is of a flat and rounded body file.IMG_20210109_205725365.jpg

Any advice or help is really appreciated!  Just something about creating this vision in your head is so appealing.

Welcome to the madness!

It sounds like you want to hammer stuff into shape, which means yes, you need a forge.  If you're not ready to spend some money, you can use charcoal and a few bricks to get you started.  It's that simple!  

You can go as low-tech or high-tech as you want, depending on what you want to make.  If you want to forge stuff, you'll eventually want so tongs to hold hot steel with. 

You don't need a belt grinder, they just make things faster.  I used files and angle grinders for about eight years, during which time I made around a hundred tomahawks, fully polished and engraved.  Good files are the key, though.