Parks 50 and blade coatings = oil contamination?

Does anyone know if Satanite, which I typically use as a light wash over blades I'm heat treating and for thicker applications for creating hamon can cause contamination or degrade a commercial quench like Parks 50? It's inevitable some flakes off in the quench. Never worried about it much with canola or peanut oil that you treat as consumables.

• 1 month later...

Apologies for missing this thread when I asked essentially the very same question here. Brian doesn't seem too concerned about it, and to his point it seems it would be a real pain to filter the oil regularly. Hoping to get a few more perspectives though.

I've never heard of it causing problems, but I'm not a quenchant engineer. And yeah, that's a thing!:lol:

Thanks, I missed that thread (and I forgot I posted this, lol). I had trolled around the other knifemaker forums and essentially while there are some anti-scale products with chemical components that could cause degradation by and large clay coatings collect in chunks on the bottom of the tank and just need to be screened out perhaps yearly. The oil can benefit from filtering from time to time too. The main thing is keeping them sealed from the general atmosphere to limit water exposure from the air and probably most importantly, always fully immerse items when quenching to prevent surface flaming which will kill "engineered" quenchants faster than anything else. So, treat it nice and it will last a long time.

An interesting thing I find about Parks 50, is the manufacturer's published working temp. Most folks will tell you to preheat the oil to around 120-130F before quenching.  However, the manufacturer recommends using the oil between 75-120F. I am finding that if I use it at room temp (typically around 80F in my shop) I get considerably harder steel out of the quench.

• Like 1