Build your first slip-joint - Tutorial

OK, I'm going to try something new here.  There has been some interest on the forum of late for building folders.  A handful of folks, including me, have started building them in the last year or two.  I thought I would walk through the process I use in great gory detail in the hopes that it will help some folks.  I'm not an expert at this by any means.  I've only build about a dozen slip-joints, and I do something different each time.  However, they say that nothing is as educational as trying to teach something, so I'm hoping to learn too.  If nothing else, it should stimulate some conversation.

Today boys and girls, we are going to build this knife:

pattern.PNG

It is my own design and the pattern is here for you to download.  The design is heavily influenced by the work of Steve Culver.  I highly recommend his book on slip-joints:  https://www.amazon.com/Slip-joint-Folder-Designing-Building-Culver/dp/1545388326/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=steve+culver+slip+joint&qid=1611879565&sr=8-1

With the exception of two steps, I will not use anything more sophisticated than a drill press and my 2x72 grinder.  The two steps where I do use bigger machinery can be eliminated with good results.

I've done a WIP while making this design before, but that was just a few pics I took along the way.  In this tutorial, I will try to explain why I do each step, and what I have learned is and isn't critical.  Feel free to add any info I missed, or ask questions along the way.

I'm a few days into building the knife, and am pretty motivated to finish it up, so hopefully I'll add to this thread every day or two.

Pattern 9-30-19 (1).pdf

• Thanks 1
  • Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts