Looking for critiques on my first forge

I've been lurking for awhile and read up on forge designs and what not prior to initiating this build.  I went the homemade route for my first forge mainly because I like to make things and I had some stuff laying around all ready I could use.  Price for supplies was a concern as I am just getting into this and, while still supportive, my wife wasn't as enthused to spend hundreds of dollars on a commercially produced forge or pro-grade materials.  

I found an old charcoal chimney I've had for years and decided it would make a good light duty forge body.  It's made of aluminized steel and has seen many red hot heat cycles as I used it to get my charcoal smoker going many times.  I cut it up a bit and rearranged some of it's parts as well as added a few of my own to give it the form you see here.  The body is insulated with 1" kaowool all the way around with an additional 1" strip on the floor, underneath the fire brick.  I also put another 1" strip around the rear opening to choke that down a bit and help hold heat in.  I use a fire brick over the rear opening to close it off or open it a bit to allow for pass through of long material should I ever need that option.  I do the same in the front to help hold heat in.   The burner, which I purchased pre-made, is pointing directly at the forge floor, if need be I can make some minor adjustments to have it point more tangentially and the depth it protrudes into the forge body is easily adjusted as well.  I used Simmonds air set wet refractory mortar (3000F) for the refractory liner over rigidized kaowool.  I used fumed silica to make my own rigidizer.   I baked it in the oven to help cure the refractory and then it sat out in my garage for a good week or so.  Despite this, the refractory bubbled a bit and had several hairline cracks after the first real fire, I kinda expected this would happen though.