Sorry if someone's already asked this. I couldn't find what i was looking for.

Im very new at knifemaking but recently i got a premade damascus knife blade as a bday gift.

The blade looked kinda dirty, and the pattern kinda dull. So, i started by polishing it with a dremel which made the upper steel really shiny. However the bottom steel looked kinda beige/light grey so i decided to etch it in coffee to darken it.

After 5 hours, not much color change. The edge of the blade that was previously just shiny metal now showed a damascus pattern, so the etching did work. The shiny steel stayed shiny. However, the other steel kinda just turned beige with splotches of brown.

I dont know if it just needs more time or what went wrong, any advice would be super helpful.

IMG_20210228_140618.jpg

The blade after my etch.

Welcome aboard!

I suspect it just needs more time in stronger coffee.  Like, overnight in a batch of instant coffee brewed to at least five times normal strength.  After that the not-shiny parts should be a full black, and you may need to lightly hit it with fine paper on a hard backing to get the bright stripes back.

• Like 1

I like to use gun bluing oil to really darken the carbon steel, and it doesn't do much to the nickel steel layers. My typical routine is to

-etch in ferric

-clean, sand high layers at 600 or 1000 grit

-coffee etch in hot water with as much instant coffee as will dissolve in it (leave for a few hours) only if I need it to be more dark than usual

-clean, lightly hand sand again

-wipe on cold bluing oil to wet surface, repeat as needed to leave low layers as black as desired