This will be my first year participating in KITH, I'm excited and nervous. Hopefully I can produce something good enough to stand along side the rest of you guys. :)

Since I think I'm the only one who voted for the Spear option this year, it seemed only right to perhaps attempt a combination of a spear using 1 cubic inch of material!  I took Immediately to Anne Jorgensen's book "Waffen und Graber" for general measurements that might equal around a cubic inch, and found the L2 and L4 seemed to hit the mark. 

I settled on an L4 for my first attempt since it seemed a simpler shape and this is my first attempt at a spear.  Being that this is KITH, and I'd like to get better at it, I decided to make a forge-weld another variant in the build.

2 Weeks ago I ventured forward!  Starting Dimensions are 2 pieces of 2"L x 1/4"Th x 1"W

gotlandic spearhead13.jpg        gotlandic spearhead(1).jpg     gotlandic spearhead4.jpg

gotlandic spearhead5.jpg    gotlandic spearhead6.jpg     gotlandic spearhead8.jpg

The first attempt seemed to go fairly smooth, except for some failed welds on the last half of the weld-site.  When I practiced with Clay this was also the case, so I'll have to see if I can't figure out how to improve that.  You can see the excess space towards the bottom of the weld a little here:

gotlandic spearhead10.jpg

I'd like to not present a piece with flawed welds for my first KITH, so I finished it with 120G and a long ferric bath to give it some feeling of finality. This one will stay with me on the shelf of learning.  But because this was such a near success I'll be continuing on this thread of a small spear/javelin head in hopes that I can figure out a way to make this work! :D 

FINISHED GOTLANDIC SPEARHEAD.jpg

Hopefully this wasn't too long-winded for a KITH thread..>_>

Edited by Jaron Martindale
  • Like 3
Posted (edited)