Belt grinder suggestions

I currently have been using a 1x30 belt grinder and have learned that it limits what I can do regarding bladesmithing. I'm fairly new to this and was wondering if anyone had insight on a reliable belt grinder. I've heard that 2x72 works best. I'm trying to keep my budget under $3K. Thanks in advance. 

Edited by Peter Killham

All the big names (KMG, Pheer, OBM, Bader, Wuertz, AMK, etc.) are great machines.  Those sold on ebay and made from tubing are not.  More than most tools, with a 2x72 you really get what you pay for.

If you're handy, you can get plans and build your own.  That's certainly the cheapest option.  

• Thanks 1

I'm in a similar boat. I started blacksmithing/knifemaking as a hobby in the fall, and am actually taking 2 weeks off for an ABS Into to Knifemaking course starting in a week.

I too started w/ a budget grinder, a Norse 2x42 from Amazon which I've made a lot of modifications to, and I will likely upgrade to a big boy grinder after my course.

From my research I narrowed things down to:

• 84 Engineering's Gibson 72 Deluxe sold by Alec Steele - leaning towards this one due to the carbide faced platen, cam-based tension system (supposedly even better than ratcheting), and drive wheel based tracking adjustments. This package is the most expensive, but comes with everything I think I need except for a larger contact wheel. 
  • Wuertz Machine Works TW-90 - I like the ratcheting tension (better than spring or piston), and this package has just about everything you could need. My reservations are the lack of return wheels w/ the small wheel attachment (return wheels cause the belt to hug the small wheel better instead of creating a wider angle, the fact that the flat platen may or may not come with rubberized wheels on either side of the platen, and a few other small things. I would get the doubler plate add-on if I got this.