Damascus woes... feedback requested

I tried my hand at damascus this weekend. 4 layers of 15N20 and 3 of 1084 approximately 1.25” x 3.5”. The 1084 is 3/32” thickness, the 15N20 is ~.080”. I did my surface prep with a 40-grit ceramic belt and tacked everything together on the corners and sides with my stick welder. Brought up to dull red, dusted with borax for flux, and brought up to temp and went through the steps; fast, light blows from the center outward, re-fluxed, brought back up to temp, another set of light and fast blows, and a final flux/bring to temp before I started drawing it out to either cut & stack or just forge a blade from. 

This evening I cleaned it up on the grinder around the edges and noticed partial delaminations on a couple layers. I took a chisel to them and this was the result... hopefully one of you guys can give me feedback on what I may have done wrong. B0D13EEC-DC8A-45D4-85B9-2BA61B230AFB.jpeg

I feel like maybe I just missed the smooth section in the middle, and at the handle which didn’t allow it to weld up properly... 

Hey man Could have been anything. I think there is a consensus that grinding lengthwise is better than across. And your hammer blows should be progressively a little harder for about 3 or so passes (or until you feel good about it lol.. What did you use to guage temp? 

• Thanks 1

The best way to grind it is probably a great topic of discussion, sitting in the shop and sharing a few beers.

I'm thinking you didnt quite get it hot enough, at least not all the way through the billet.  If you've never accidentally sparked your steel before, and you're judging by color, I'd recommend taking a small scrap piece and heating it up until it throws sparks.  That's actually too far, but at least itll give you an idea of the color range that you're shooting for.  Another indicator is watching the flux.  Once is flows and starts a very rigorous boil, it's a good indicator that you're up to temp.