I'm trying to keep it smallish because I don't have a very large work area. In the pic, the blue line is the belt. Green is attached to the motor and yellow are rollers.

(The two rendered pics are before I added the fifth roller). As it sits the belt path is 71.2 inches. Total length is 25". Height is 19".

Belt tracking adjustment isn't in the pics by the way.

Go easy. I'm not a mechanical designer. :)

belt2.png

Grinder_2021-Apr-11_04-43-49AM-000_CustomizedView4390521197.png

Grinder_2021-Apr-11_04-47-05AM-000_CustomizedView29632977967.png

GrinderTop.png

Edited by Daniel Sheets

Three things jumped out at me.  The first was that your fifth roller is going to get chewed up pretty fast as the grit side of your belt will be making contact with it.  The second is that you would have to wire your motor backwards in order to get it to run the proper direction.  Lastly, while I was confirming the direction thing in my head, I noticed that it's going to be a royal pain in the butt to get your belts on and off with the motor sitting on that side of the grinder. 

I would highly recommend flipping the motor over to the other side of the unit.  It would solve the last two problems.   Also, if space is a concern, consider downsizing to something like a 2x48 instead of a 2x72.  Belt availability is the same (except for maybe some of the highly specialized belts) and it can be made much smaller.  You may lose a bit of versatility depending on what tooling you put in, but it would still be a highly effective machine.

• Like 2

Well I'm teaching myself to weld in the process but it's coming along. It ain't pretty but it'll look better once it's sanded and painted. I took your advice Alex and went with 2x48.

IMG_18042021_182343_(500_x_500_pixel).jpg

• Like 1

What are you using to weld with?

Somethings wrong... 

Show me a closer shot of your weld joint, tell me what you're using- gas, or flux core, wire size, welder etc.

See if we can give you tips.