Working on katana fittings a few weeks back made me realize how much I enjoy working with Japanese copper alloys. I decided to do a practice piece that would be more focused on the carving this time and chose the swallowtail butterfly as my subject. This is cut and carved out of a piece of 20% silver shibuichi leftover from the fittings.

vOLwWc0.jpg

Cut with a piercing saw and filed to shape before starting with the actual carving.

Ar03oiw.jpg

At this point, I'm in way over my head, and it's all about to get a lot worse before it gets any better...

CBR4s3B.jpg

JZ2KYjx.jpg

ImhytIb.jpg

FBn5r5r.jpg

It's still a bit of a "flat" carving, but I'm new at this... baby steps :) Since it went okay, I decided to incorporate it into a larger design, as a pendant for my better half, who suggested pairing it with a cattail.

I cast some additional alloys for the extra pieces to inlay.

hzN3pd9.jpg

950 sterling (for the body of the pendant), 20% shibuichi (the butterfly), copper (for the cattail sausage), 40% shibuichi (for the stem), gold (for the spike). 

xM5aBmG.jpg

I hammer-textured the back because I had no idea what else to do there... (no I'm not making a Star Trek communicator :P)

DXO1Rkh.jpg

I soldered a piece of silver tubing to attach to a chain because I'm not really a jeweler and that seemed simple enough.

qijQ1NZ.jpg

Then I got busy on the carving / texturing / inlays

DcKLlz8.jpg

s3QWueE.jpg

After a good bit of cleanup, but with still more needed:

kbTv92g.jpg

After giving the critter its legs and antennas, and after yet another cleanup, I patinated the final piece with rokusho:

cfyVpH7.jpg