Hey all, 

I was given this old hook out of a old barn. I was hoping it was wrought iron. From the reading I have done it seems likely but never having been around it I am skeptical. What day you all? 

E8E0D4A4-CD4A-4737-ACD1-2D004737450D.jpeg

925D9602-5ACC-4C12-84C9-1A85A2047101.jpeg

657CEC4B-1D51-4CD5-9CFF-DDA46D125733.jpeg

Not as much a wood like grain in the break that I like to see. BUT. A maybe. Clean up an inch or two section, maybe to 200 grit and acid etch it. If its WI the grain should show. 

So before I saw your reply I threw the small piece in the forge and hammered it down. A small piece started to fracture off so I hot cut it off. I had it sanded up to 400 already. Rubbed some ferric cloride on it. This is what I got.  

718328C9-DC37-4571-8C8B-6B460EA75FA5.jpeg

12BF14A3-7447-4D1D-92DF-26771A6AC828.jpeg

I'm still new to WI. Mines old wagon wheels. When etched in Ferris chloride for 15-30 minutes it shows more grain.. it looks like its got possibility but I'd give it a longer etch to bring out layering. Low carbon should have come out one dull gray color. 

Given the function, it's more likely to be steel.  If it's old enough it could be shear steel, which would be cooler than wrought.  Try more etching, and try to harden a piece in water.  

Thanks Velgski I will etch it longer. 
     Alan I will cut the price I forged in half. I will etch one piece for a longer time and quench the other piece. I will thermal cycles the peace a couple times and then quench in water. 

For the record, it is half a set of log tongs. When logging with horses or oxen, you'd have two of those connected by a loop. Drive the points into your felled log, hook a chain to the loop, and skid the log out to where you want it.

You can even do it with a single one, but it doesn't work as well.

Anyway, that's why I said it is probably steel. 

Posted (edited)