Historic Firebrick Recipes?

Case Draughn

I'm looking for firebrick recipes to make bricks for building furnaces and forges with hopes that the bricks may be reusable. I haven't had much luck in finding what I'm looking for.

I'm a historic archaeology grad student and bladesmith, so naturally I've experimented with making clay furnaces. Where I'm living now for school I don't have immediate access to unlimited clay like I used to, so I'm planning on making a trip to get a big pile of it for making bricks and other things, so that I have materials on hand for putting together or moving furnaces. I don't have very much space here either, so I'd like to be able to deconstruct and put away my furnaces when I'm finished with them - another reason for bricks. 

Being an archaeology student, I want to make my own bricks for this. Buying modern firebricks surely would be easier and better quality, but it's not fun. An authentic historic recipe would be the coolest. I already know where to dig my own kaolin and stoneware clays and pretty much any sort of temper that might go into ceramics. 

What I want to know is what materials and in what proportions for making firebricks for these purposes, and what would be the best method of firing for making these myself?

Alternatively, if there's something that would provide a greater advantage to the historic recipe, hit me with it.

As a fellow historic archaeologist and collector of Southeastern stoneware, I gotta say you're probably on your own. The kiln bricks and kiln furniture I've seen are usually just the local stoneware clay that hasn't been cleaned as much as it was for the actual pottery.  I haven't seen any "recipe" per se for firebrick.  One thing I wouldn't do is add sand. That will tend to melt on the hot face side of the bricks and fuse the bricks together.  Big chunks of quartz are okay, though.  

You'll need to make a brick mold, and there are lots of resources for those.