what kind of sandpaper do you use?

nathan doss

I'm still pretty new to this, so I was wondering what brands of sandpaper everybody uses. I'm really just looking for a brand I can use myself that lasts longer than the brand I have.

What are you using and why are you not satisfied with it?

I assume that you're talking about sheet abrasives and not belts.  For everything from 80-2000 grit I use silicon carbide wet/dry paper like this.  Their prices are pretty good and they have been easy to deal with.  The best deal they have are for cheap 2 x 72 belts.   They are not the best quality (I go with one of the ceramic belts for heavy hogging) but they are good enough for utility belts and are great for wood and other soft materials.

Unfortunately, belts and sheet abrasives only work for a while.  You just have to hitch your britches and pitch it when it stops cutting.  I think most of the waste that comes out of my shop is sawdust, grinding dust, and used sandpaper.

Geoff  

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

"The worst day smithing is better than the best day working for someone else."

I said that.

If a thing is worth doing, it is worth doing badly.

- - -G. K. Chesterton

So, just for the record: the fact that it does work still should not be taken as definitive proof that you are not crazy.

Grant Sarver

the problem with the sand paper that i use is that it wears out really fast

I've been satisfied with the sheets from Combat Abrasives: https://www.combatabrasives.com/collections/9-x-11-sheets/products/9-x-11-sheets-50-pack-silicon-carbide-wet-dry

I get Gator Grit at Rural King sometimes and it's petty good. But be sure you check the back and make sure its made in S. Korea not China. You can definitely tell a difference.

GG320.jpg

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1