I say "new" because it is new to me, not because many others out there smarter than I may not have already done this. But I haven't read about it, so I''ll share.

I really like the idea of making an ovular or elliptical shaped forge for damascus. More length with less area to heat, while still getting the vortex effect. Most people cut a pipe in two, top to bottom, weld in panels, and go from there. Well, I have to have a pipe rolled and welded, so I am not about to then go cutting it in half. Besides, I'm a pretty bad welder So I came up with an idea for getting the shape without any cutting or welding.

I am going to line an 18" pipe with 2" of Kaowool--pretty standard so far. Then I am going to cut two pieces of Kaowool board and slide them down into the forge to make the shape I want. Then I will stuff the empty spaces between the wool and the board with all the old wool trimmings I have been saving from other forge builds. Then Satanite or something similar to cement everything in place, etc. This should give me the shape I want on the inside, while providing a bunch of additional insulation. (For what it's worth, the wool and board are pretty cheap here in Korea, so the extra $$ there are negligible.)

Thoughts,

John

p.s.

I have another modification I'm considering.

I may try pouring castable right up to the bottom of the door. From there I will use wool. This will eliminate the great majority of flux problems, while also making the portion of the forge that actually needs to be hot come up to temp rather quickly. Of course I realize the castable will suck some of the heat from the wool until the temps between the two equalize, but I still think this may represent a good compromise between an all wool vs. all castable forge. Also, the Koawool board panels on the sides will run the entire height of the forge, making it come up to heat even quicker, but not coming into contact with flux.