what do people say when you tell them your a bladesmith?

im just getting into it, but ussually when i tell people i want to make blades thier eyebrows perk up and ask inquizitively. what for? most artist try to dicourage me and tell me ill never make any money doing it, and that theres no point in competing with 3rd world labor, in trying to do everything by hand. not that any of them are deterring me, its more of a side thing than trying to make a living at it, i will be a school teacher for that. just curious as how some of you guys are perceived, and what kind of questions people ask you. why blades? they ar a weapon for killing u know. what do you say to someone who says waht if u made a knife that someone use to hurt someone?

knives are basically tools, just ask them what they have in their kitchens. some are also works of art and very expensive and collectible. photo of knife by Antonio Montajano

Rodgers-67.jpg

Edited by DanM
just curious as how some of you guys are perceived, and what kind of questions people ask you. why blades?

I normally get anything from a shrug of the shoulders to a barrage of abuse about the criminal element of society. At 6'1" and a fit 95 kg, right arm has a 3/4 Maori / tribal sleeve tattoo on it and I ride bikes.... oh and he makes knives ..... Tattoos+bike+knives "HE's the DEVIL"

:blink:

All you do is smile and sharpen their kitchen knives for them. If they have any questions you answer them. And you will find that are usually pretty interested in what you are doing, or at least dump that first impression.Grandma's love you when they have sharp cooking knives B)

It's no use arguing with some people though about it, they are usually the people that complain that you made their kitchen knives to sharp.To those people F@#K em you do your own thing mate.

Oh and I ride a BMW. How many criminals ride bloody BMW's, I ask ?