Sign in to follow this  
Rich Johnson

hammer in's in Florida

I usualy use stock removel. I am new to forging. I would like to know if any body knows of any hammer in's or any one who would be willing teach me the basics on how to forge here in Central Florida.

I can be reached at RichardL.Johnson@sdhc.k12.fl.us

Thank you for your time.

Check out FABA (Florida Artist Blacksmith Association). While blacksmithing is the main focus there are hordes of knifemakers involved as well. You will learn something at every meeting! Every region of Florida has a monthly meeting/hammer-in and you will find that at least once a year these meetings are focused on knives/axes or even swords upon occasion. Mainly though you will network with other knifemakers in your area that you didn't even know existed. When I first started going to FABA meetings I discovered that there were at least half a dozen knifemakers in my immediate vicinity, including a ABS Journeyman smith just three miles from my house as well as a knifemaker nearby who once upon a time opened his shop every Sunday to area knifemakers who wanted to learn more.

FABA (Florida Artist Blacksmith Association)

Check out that link to find contacts in your area/region. It's a great place to start!